6 comments on “MIRRORLESS CAMERAS

  1. I was reading up on mirrorless cameras the other day. Far too pricey for me but I imagine they will be the future of photography. I like that they are lighter, after hours of taking pictures, my wrists have had enough. It looks like there is some type of slider bar (or whatever you would call it.) Nice gear!

    • The slider is a focusing rail used for macro, this one by Pentax and
      of the “worm gear” design, high grade material, built to last and
      though several years old when I got it in excellent condition.
      A friend of mine in town just picked up a used Sony A6000 on the
      net for $400 – great shape and if not mistaken a camera that
      has sold more copies than any other still in production for
      around $500 new body only and $600 with a pretty decent lens.
      I once had a Canon 20d with a battery grip, depending on the
      lens that was attached I used to joke if I had a rope attached
      to it and lost the brakes on the truck I could toss it out the
      window to slow me down.
      It was a good camera and well built but only had 8mps and I’m
      of the opinion that inspite of what some may say pixels do matter.
      That coupled with advances made in sensors led me to upgrade.
      I’ve noticed that those of the pixels don’t matter camp usually
      are “pros” who have the latest high end gear so I just kind of
      blow it off.
      The Sony’s I’ve mentioned all have 24mps with cutting edge sensors
      so I’m satisfied, though if the opportunity arose to get one of
      their 42mp full frames I’d go for it.
      You’ve mentioned you have a Canon Rebel, I had a couple of different
      models of the Rebel, there’s an abundance of them in use globally
      and they perform admirably, a plus is the huge number of good
      lenses Canon has made that are available – a couple of which I
      have and use with an adapter.
      Focusing rails are a great tool, a must for macro in my opinion
      if you’re going all manual – they of course like all things
      photography run the price range from realistic to outrageous.
      All the bells and whistles about motorized and multi directional
      rails may be nice but at the core is the ability to move forward
      and backward – I think I can handle that without motorized
      assistance, a cell phone and assortment of must have apps.
      Mirrorless is the future, but a good camera is a good camera and
      if taken care of will perform admirably for years whether mirrorless
      or not.
      If you’re spending hours taking photos you’re on the right track
      and it will show in the photos you take.

      • I own a tripod and have never used it. I must stop being too lazy to set it up! I won’t be buying a camera anytime soon, I am not even close to knowing all the settings on it. One thing that bothers me most is when I want to take another photo, it is always saying it is busy.

        I think it is from having to re-focus? I have been reading about something called back button focus. Everything is a bit overwhelming and my attention span is almost nil. Once I “get” it in my memory, I hope my picture taking becomes less trying and more creative!

        I don’t own a cell phone, I doubt I ever will, so that means missing out on many things. I just don’t want to be available to everyone at all times. ugh…

      • Ditto the cell phone, I refuse to be tethered to what has become a viral
        obsessive compulsive behavior.
        It kind of sounds like the busy signal is your camera is in the midst of
        writing files – especially if you’ve taken a burst mode approach as in
        multiple shutter activations at a time or saving as both RAW and jpeg.
        Not a bad idea to periodically check to make sure contacts are clean on
        both the lens and camera mount – had a friend who was having focus issue
        and when we took a look it was simple as cleaning the contacts.
        Lot of info in manuals to slog through, you might consider what are
        referred to as “cheat sheets” specific to you camera.
        They can be found on ebay etc and though I’ve never used one know a couple
        of people who have and say they are the reason they still have hair
        on their head and definitely ramped up their game.
        My tripod is heavy by today’s standards but works for me considering
        how and where I use it.
        Some lenses will hunt and peck depending on lighting- you can determine
        if that is the case by using all your lenses under the same conditions
        and noting how they respond.

      • I have bookmarked some cheat sheets and think it is time to print them out, that way they will be handy.
        The lens cleaning could very well be the culprit. I do try to keep the covers on and keep it in the camera bag. Though, on days I know I will be using it, I keep it out and handy.
        Our house is a few feet from the road, with a lovely but massive maple tree in-front. People love to park under it all the time, shades their vehicle, also creates a dusty home!
        I swear I could dust every few hours. Time to clean my lens. Thanks!

      • Try as you might dust is a fact of life and the bane of all things photography.
        Good idea if you print the cheat sheets to laminate them as well if you can.
        Chores to do on this end so I’m out as well – let me know how the “busy” thing
        turns out.

Leave a Reply

