8 comments on “RACISM

  1. “Ted Cruz, yeah, there’s someone whose every word is to be taken as gospel.” Umm, yeah. A majority of Americans DO take every word he speaks as gospel.

  2. Well, that was impressive! I have always been so careful about what I say because I worry people might think something other than what I mean. I don’t understand how not agreeing with policy in any country means I don’t like the people in it. It was news to me. I don’t agree with many things my government does, it does not mean I don’t like the people or citizens that live there. It’s absurd. Maybe I should take your post to heart and stop being so afraid to speak out about things that matter. You’re awesome!

    • I have to admit I was more than a little fired up when I wrote and posted
      it, and should there be any misunderstand I’d like to reiterate that I meant
      every word of it.
      There’s a time and a place for what has become political correctness but
      it should never evolve to the point where a person can’t just have a normal
      conversation with a friend or even a stranger they meet in a coffee shop.
      Over the top word and thought police had a significant role in Trump
      becoming president, something of a backlash – the irony is that now
      we have a president with diarrhea of the mouth stoking the flames of
      nationalism on steroids, division, and racism.
      Isn’t like it should be a surprise, anyone with the intelligence of a
      four year old should have known better, should have known what was coming.
      And so like the song says “way down we go”.
      Diversity is essential among any species if it is to remain viable, that
      doesn’t speak to supporting what is indefensible, what it means to me is
      I’m not going to become another brick in the political correctness wall
      if some effort isn’t made to achieve and maintain some sort of balance.
      And I’m not going to allow anyone to put words in my mouth or say I meant
      one thing when I meant another.
      I happen to like an occasional cupcake or Twinkie, words that have been
      employed in a negative manner – does that mean we should drop those words
      or should the intent define?
      Yeah, I know – a Twinkie?
      If I happened to go to a store with someone who thought the word twinkie
      was offensive and wanting to purchase one being the reason I went to the store
      should I stumble around attempting to describe what I want or just say give
      me a damn Twinkie?
      Better stop here before I begin ranting if I haven’t already.

      • I work in construction and have heard every racial slang word there is for everyone. When I first started in that industry, I was in shock. They fling words around like that all the time. Funny, because not one of them will swear around me, if they slip, they even apologize.
        People laugh at me when I say my dad’s family is French/Indian. I have freckles!

      • Too their credit if they will apologize, all too often
        flinging words around is the way of it, an habituated
        behavior not restricted to any particular vocation.
        I knew a metis girl who had freckles.

  3. Well, if it’s about life experience I could write a volume or two about that
    as I’ve been called every racial pejorative and then some by whites, blacks,
    and even an asian or two.
    Had crazed Christian converts tell me I was a worshipper of demons and spirits,
    and a muslim tell me I was an infidel – none of which made it online.
    The savage wanton killing of my people was always portrayed as a great victory
    and when the world became aware of the holocaust during WW2 they spoke in outrage
    and rightfully so while none did the same for the holocaust that had taken place
    in this country, this hemisphere.
    Had black robes and mormons steal our children and attempted to brainwash them
    like Hitler’s Youth Corp, yet I know Catholics, Mormons, and Christians I call
    friend because they have not done likewise.
    Had our women raped and their breasts cut off to make into tobacco pouches, our
    children were swung by their heels to have their heads bashed against walls or
    trees and then fed to dogs.
    Untold numbers died in slavery, we became targets of eugenics programs and sterilization
    If there had been today’s weaponry available then I have no doubt it would have
    used against us – is death any less final if it comes from a bullet, an arrow, a
    Hotchkiss, a club, an artillery shell, a battle ax, or a missile?
    Is the toll in human suffering any different? The loss of a child any more
    devastating?
    Yet inspite of everything, all of this, has a lesson been learned?
    Tribalism as it has existed and still exists is a form of racism as does and is
    slavery – existing caste systems between the haves and the have nots is a form
    of racism if not slavery as the working class is exploited to increase wealth
    rather than elevate the l standard of living for all.
    On the socio economic ladder I came from what has been perceived as the bottom
    rung – I know something about racism and injustice and I won’t tolerate any
    innuendo that I haven’t learned the lessons or participate in facilitating racism.
    I think one of the greatest poets to ever live was Kahlil Gibran and when it comes to
    children I believe his chapter on children in The Prophet should be required reading,
    to paraphrase they don’t belong to the parents, it is a trust and as such they should
    be sent forth as arrows from the archers bow – not corrupted, not taught to hate, not
    prejudiced, but straight and honest as they are the future.
    There is also a revisionist and contrived history that behooves all to either verify or
    repudiate.

Leave a Reply

